Make-up: Why I hate it and what I use

Beauty, Fashion, Make-up

When I was about 15 I discovered the YouTube beauty community, for the next couple of years I devoted my time, efforts and spare money ( I got a job at 16 to fund my habits) to amassing as much make up as I could possibly own. I work in a fashion retailer which requires me to have a different outfit each month as my uniform. I saw this as my opportunity to match my make up with the outfit, I have vivid nightmares about a green and blue maxi dress which I totally thought went perfectly with blue eyeshadow and green eyeliner MEGA CRINGE!

This went on till I was about 17 and kind of gave up with make-up spare cash now began to help enhance my shoe collection ( which is still growing to this day) At this point I discovered liquid eyeliner which has now become my signature, now I am still not great at matching my eyes but I have hooded eyes so only I notice if they are uneven. Ever since I have cut back my make-up collection, finishing up Urban decay eyeliners, throwing out sleek eye palettes and realising that I didn’t need to be collecting lipsticks that I would never actually wear.

Quick Rant:

I think today’s social media generation, specifically girls watching beauty YouTubers needs to be shown that there is more to life than having expensive make-up one quick YouTube search will call up alot of very young girls who have this perception that they need to be in a full face of make-up. For me up until about 16 I didn’t wear anything other than eyeshadows and mascara and of course a tonne of black eyeliner ( I was a scene kid at this time)

74421_1613213762917_997215_n

Yes this is indeed 15 year old me, oh dear lord. But going back to my point I YouTube searched a particular foundation range which has been very popular and I discover hundreds of videos of young girls with great skin applying heavy duty foundations because a certain Youtuber has done a review stating that they need this. It breaks my heart a little bit that these girls think that they need to use such expensive, heavy make-up in order to fit in but I think I will save the rest of this rant for a separate post I am planning.

1947602_10202181285186275_561637596_n

Now at the age of 20 almost 21 ( 22nd March and I am terrified) make-up now for me is just as little as I can get away with. I will only put on make-up if I am going to work or college except for eyebrows, you know the way they say eyebrows are sisters not twins well my eyebrows are second cousins twice removed.  I have a bit of an obsession with highlighters which probably makes me look like a Christmas fairy most of the time but if I could share one thing I have learned:

Make-up is for Me , It is to make me happy I don’t wear it for others so If I want to be as glowy as a Mermaid that’s ok. If I want to make my eyebrows look like baby caterpillars this is also ok. If I want to leave the house blemishes showing with a bit of lip balm then this is also ok. I don’t need to care how others perceive me as long as I am happy. 

With that being said my most comfortable is with some foundation, eyeliner and highlighter and this is what I use:

1947602_10202181285186275_561637596_n

My entire face in one image 🙂

1922796_10202184744312751_1361103989_n

Mum is a bit of a QVC addict and so through this we have both discovered Laura Geller so for my foundation I use a mix of Rimmel Match perfection ( one of the few true pale highstreet foundations) I then use a bit of the Laura Geller powder foundation to set my forehead and chin, or if I am being lazy I will only use the Laura Geller.

1964732_10202184748912866_1185486342_n 1961544_10202184745792788_1238379375_n

For blusher I don’t really use alot but I do use another Laura Geller product, Brulee apple blusher from their latest today’s special value from QVC. It is a mix of pink tones, brown tones and glowlyness which transforms into a lovely coral colour on my cheeks. I also use the French Vanilla highlighter from the first TSV Laura Geller set I got at Christmas. It has a bit of a yellow tone but on my skin it just gives a natural glowlyness.

1957467_10202184746952817_56634097_n 1922587_10202184746232799_800217110_n

Eyes are last and I usually begin by putting a light brown or pinky colour all over my eye to help the eyeliner stay in place. At the minute I love the seventeen cosmetics tattoo me eyeliner because once it is on that is it , it wont go anywhere unless I use a oil-based eye make-up remover. I love Rimmel pro eye brown pencils because like I said I have awful eyebrows that take alot of effort to tame and the pencil allows me to achieve this very quickly.

1927105_10202166056805575_240032915_n 1655004_10202154141067689_1732460567_n

And that’s it , I hope you can tell it never really looks like I am wearing alot of make-up but it is enough for me , I get up at six in the morning and spending hours getting ready isn’t an option.

I hope this post was interesting I am sorry it’s very long but I am going to start up a series for my mini rants so that they don’t take up so much room on other posts, if you would like this let me know and please if you have a topic or opinion on something that you want me to talk about let me know xx

Leave a Reply

