Behind the Scenes: Argento Campaign Shoot

Beauty, Fashion, fashion show, Gingersnapsvintage, Jewellery, Uncategorized

20140820_120535

Probably my favorite image using  Inner Power necklaces

I am sure I have mentioned before that throughout my degree I have made a conscious effort to gain as much experience as possible in various areas of the fashion industry. As you would I have seen a few posts ago I have been working alot at Belfast Fashion week over the past eight seasons and through this I have made several contacts one of which is renowned local stylist Eve Brannon  about a month or so ago now I assisted on an all day shoot for the Argento campaign images for autumn winter 14. The shoot was shot by the amazing Khara Pringle in her Belfast based studio. The concept was that we would use 2 different backdrops and shoot a very monochromatic palette so that the jewellery was the focal point of the shoot. I have waited until the shots have begun to appear in-store so that I don’t post any spoilers. This was the first shoot I had done which was an all day affair, I have had opportunities to do this before but I haven’t been able to stay due to other commitments.

 20140820_103921

The first part of any shoot is set up of all the different departments from the photographic team to hair and make-up. This is probably the lengthy and some what boring part of any shoot but it is so so important for the success of the rest of the shoot that you take time at this stage to make sure everything is right.

20140820_103918

20140820_090403

Then it is time for the hair and make-up team to work their magic on the model. They will usually have been given a rough brief of what the company that have ordered the shoot want from the look. The will have inspirational images to reference throughout the day and will be on shoot all day for touch ups and changes to the looks. They will work along side the photographer to ensure that the look transfers exactly in the photograph, for example an up-style might look brilliant in person but look rubbish in a photograph.

20140820_085954

At this point my usual task is prepping the looks, helping organise them by retailer or theme, ensuring that we have all the items we are supposed to and if any items need steamed or adjusted ( pinned up in length for example)

20140820_095209

The photographer at this point will do some test shots to make sure the lighting is working in the image and make any necessary adjustments.

20140820_145920

20140820_115334

20140820_102449

One important tool used during the day is the laptop viewer, this previews each image as it is taken and allows the photographer to ensure all the details of the image are in focus.

20140820_115242 20140820_145901

The model in question was the beautiful Sif from Models One  she had flown over especially for the shoot!

20140820_131617

20140820_120206

The rest of the day is then a mix of outfit and jewellery changes and of course a lunch break!

I hope you guys like this sort of post, helping with shoots is probably one of my favourite things to do I love any and all expierence I can gain and I am blessed to have built a great relationship with local stylists who allow my to assist on various projects. If you guys want any more info about how to get to work with local stylists or any info about any type of fashion voluntary experience drop me a wee email or tweet me @gingersnapsvtge

Until next time…T-J xo

Leave a Reply

