WCW: Elisa & Lily Mandelbaum

Fashion, Gingersnapsvintage, inspirations, Jewellery, Lifestyle, Outfit of the day, Style

a7

” Fashion is the paints and style is the painting”Elisa Mandelbaum

 

Back in around 2010 whilist going through a couple of fashion blogs, one of my favourite past-times, I stumbled across a closet interview from Stylelikeu. From that moment on I was completely hooked, I have probably watched every video or at least 99% of their videos by this point. I don’t think I could completely put into words what I gain from the videos but over the years I have primarily gained a sense of self-respect and self-love. The ethos of stylelikeu is the exploration of self and a move away from just accepting what society shows us e.g. Photoshop mass marketed churned out imagery.  (SEE THEIR MISSION HERE)

IMG_5995

Elisa and Lily are a mother daughter duo who set up stylelikeu in 2009 and have been championing self acceptance ever since. What really drew my to their work was the creation of the what’s underneath project. ( SEE MYLAS STORY HERE)  it is a project to really get to the depths of what makes a person’s personal style and showing that it isn’t clothes that make a person rather the way in which they have developed throughout their lives that is the key.

One of the reasons that I chose Elisa and Lily as this weeks WCW ( women crush Wednesday)  is that today saw the launch of their kickstarter project to raise funding to take the what’s underneath project globally and create an entire documentary about the movement. About 3 weeks ago I received an email from the SLU team asking if I wanted my testimonial be a part of the project, flashback about 3 months I emailed the SLU team just to express how much they have done for me without even realising it. I jumped at the chance to just to used in the wider context of the concept because I so passionately agree with their ethos. If you watch the video below I appear at about 4 minutes in!

What I hope others would learn from this website is that you dont have to conform to be beautiful, quoting one of my favourite closet confidential” Let your freak flag fly” we are all beautiful, we all have a purpose/ reason of existence and it is only through accepting ourselves that we can view the world as it is meant to be viewed.

I hope you guys like this quick post and I would seriously encourage you to head on over to their page and just watch a couple of the videos, I guarantee you will not regret it.

Until next time… TJ xo

2 thoughts on “WCW: Elisa & Lily Mandelbaum

    1. So glad you liked it I have watched all of their videos and they are so so inspiring !!!!

Leave a Reply

